New Year’s Resolution / Shut up and do it!

I’ll bet the New Year’s Resolutions are swirling around in your head like a swizzle stick in a martini glass.  Everybody’s talking about them, writing them down, making promises to themselves, but are you REALLY taking stock in what you’re asking of yourself?

Resolutions are good.  So why is it that so many of us lose momentum after the first thirty days (or even two weeks)?  We make these huge promises to ourselves, declare them either on paper or to the world on Facebook, Twitter, etc., and then end up saying, “Eh, screw it!”, “It’s too hard!”, or (and I love this one) “I just don’t have time!”.

Listen.  Do yourself a favor, and quit now.  I mean it.  QUIT that type of thinking, and change to a better, more positive attitude before you even start your resolutions. Change is difficult enough without that voice in your head saying you can’t do it or that you’ll never be better, so eliminate that right away and you’re two-thirds of the way there.

Also, ask yourself these very simple questions:  1)  Why am I doing this, 2)  What are my goals, 3)  Are they attainable?  If you’ve laid down the gauntlet with your ‘personal bakery’ around your waistline and vowed to make it disappear by June 1, then make sure you have a few smaller goals in between to guarantee success.  For example, someone writing a book doesn’t just regurgitate the whole thing as one very large stream of consciousness.  There’s chapters and sub chapters that help frame the the larger outcome.  So do that.

And don’t get wrapped up in people telling you what’s best for you to do or how “this” didn’t work for them so you better not try it either.  There are more than enough types of cardio / strength programs out there for the choosing.  Try one.  If it doesn’t work for you, do something else!  Buy a dvd, march in place in your living room, run up the stairs, anything.   I’m guessing if you’re moving in some capacity or another, then you’re doing more than you did before, and that’s a good thing.  But make it a habit.  Do it the same time every day or at least three times a week.  This helps keep you on track.

So here we go. . .elephant in the room.  How are you going to change your eating habits?  Um. . . .I’m waiting.  Yeah.  That’s what I thought.  Stop pretending that because you’re working out now that you get to eat MORE (unless it’s broccoli, forget it!).  Seriously, you have to rewire your thinking about food.  Pizza is NOT  a food group.  Cut everything you eat into half portions, eat the color wheel (that’s weird, but it’s really a method), go paleo.  But whatever you choose, keep it simple.  The first sign of complications, and you’re sure to get that negative voice creeping back into your head.

If you truly are serious about this ‘resolution’, then food is fuel (at least it has to be 95% of the time).  I’ve been there.  I’m still there!  But even I have changed things (much to my husband’s dismay).  The main thing that works for me is prepping the food for the week, grab and go snacks, and using smaller plates (than my husband!).  I swear he can eat a pint of mocha chip ice cream every  night of the week right in front of me and never gain a pound!  Been there?  Thought so.  We just can’t do that (anymore).

So here’s the take-away – 1)  Set attainable goals, 2)  Change to a positive attitude, 3)  Change your eating habits.  As sarcastic as I am, I really believe you can do this.  I’m just asking you to take responsibility and be accountable (I think I just used two of the most vulgar words in the English language to most people)!  And don’t sell yourself short.  You really CAN do this.

Back to that elephant in the room. . . how do we eat it?

About the post

No-Flab Zone, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

