Personal Assessment / Are You Doing Enough?

During a little reading this week, a question popped into my head that I think is a pretty common question for people who do any type of training (martial arts, firearms, weight lifting, etc).  I wondered why do I train in this style?  What is my ultimate objective?  Can there be more than one objective?  Is it going to benefit myself and my students?  Will it make them stronger, faster or safer?

I constantly scrutinize my workouts, my syllabus for the students, training concepts and knowledge origination.  On top of that, I’m constantly searching for new concepts and ideas that fit my scope of training, and modifying my current opinions and theories on the validity of my training.

What I’ve found is that there’s not enough time in the day for all that I want to accomplish, and that’s a VERY DIFFICULT thing for me to admit.  Sometimes things move at a glacial pace when I’m really hoping for instant gratification.  And what I also found is that it’s a much broader discovery that I was looking for than just about training others.  I was also assessing me.

Because of this, I’m learning patience, discipline, and time management.  And let me tell you those words are nothing new to me.  I’ve read the Zig Ziglar and Steven Covey books cover to cover.  But I really don’t think it “sunk in” until now; until I’m forced into these situations because of a desire to do and be better.

I believe there’s a switch that must be flipped inside each of us for this spark to be ignited.  No one can teach this to another person, at least I don’t understand how.  A person has to want something so badly that they are willing to do whatever it takes to get the job done.  That might sound extreme to some, but that only means to me that they haven’t really experienced that desire within THEMSELVES yet.

Today is the last day of my 24-day challenge.  I’ve learned quite a bit.  This is also the second week of a six month litmus test with a personal trainer working on some very unique training methods developed specifically for my body now, and also where I want to be six months from now.   This is a sacrifice for my family, and I appreciate their support.  I no longer cook the way I used to.  I’m asking more of my family around the house.  I’m sneaking  training books and articles into my full-time job and reading every chance I get, because I’ve learned I’ve got a lot of learning to do.

I’m not going to blog on my “progression” through my physical transformation, don’t worry!  This was more of a CALL TO ACTION for anyone out there who wants to do SOMETHING, but doesn’t know exactly where to start.

Start with yourself, baby!  It’ll all work out from there.

About the post

All Things Training, Uncategorized

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Really good post! I honestly don’t think the majority of people think as analytical as you do towards your training and teaching. Most of us who truly understand self defense do, but not the ones who are in it for the buck or who train leisurely. Thank you for sharing and bringing light to others about taking their training and growth seriously.

    Like

    • Thanks, Christopher. I appreciate the acknowledgement of the need for continual scrutiny of a person’s program. You’re right. If you take your training seriously, you should always look for continual growth. It doesn’t always happen as fast as we’d like, but the discovery is almost always just as rewarding as the end result. I look forward to hearing from you more in the future.

      Like

Leave a Reply

