Channeling Mr. Spock – It’s Not Emotional; Only Logical

Emotional Eating

It’s so easy to read the program notes, or eat from a chart.  It’s not as easy to get the workouts in, but I try.  I am a self-proclaimed expert on the ‘diets’ that claim to fix your problems, plop you down on the beach with your new spray tan and perfect body, and have you walk into the sunset with that perfect person.  It’s hokey, to say the least.  I get that now, but all those infomercials do just that.  They prey on your emotions to get you to buy their product.  They’re fantastic at it as a matter of fact.  Take an already emotional person, promise them the world, and watch them pull out their credit card so they can buy their new body. . .based on emotions.

I know because that used to be me:  Emotional Julie.  It was a vicious circle, too.  Allow myself to be promised the moon with the latest and greatest diet, exercise equipment or fad, buy said product and when it didn’t deliver my perfect body in thirty days it would be discarded along with the rest of them in my overflowing pile of fitness and diet frauds.

It was such an emotional issue for me, and I couldn’t figure out why.  I’m probably one of the more logical people you’ll find, but when it came to food and a healthy body, I was stumped.  I couldn’t figure it out and it drove me bonkers.

Until 2016.  I decided to try something novel in approach to my body and my fitness.  Throw out the emotional aspect and see what I can really do.  If I approach this as any other task and see my body as nothing more than something requiring fuel and maintenance, then perhaps I could achieve my goal.  It was a weird idea, and I didn’t know if it would work, but I was willing to give it a try.

Understanding my crazy busy schedule, I wasn’t sure how to start.  I had a business acquaintance who ran a business that some might put in the category I mentioned above that literally takes advantage of emotional people looking for guidance.  But I chose to take the logical approach with her program.  This particular program has mechanisms in place that teach you what to eat and how much (portion control). There’s also a schedule for your workouts and how to exercise each day.  Then there’s the app for my phone to track (if you like that sort of thing).  She’s also there for any questions I have on either food choices or exercise.  It’s all very “businessy”.  And the tracking period is 21 days; a basic reprogramming stage; a reboot.

Outcome?  I failed (according to the program).  But it was the best fail of my life.  Because I learned how this program can work for me.  I adapted and modified a couple of things along with the help of my coach, and am now on my way to a very successful 2nd round.  And I lost some inches despite my imperfect first pass.

Round two is currently in full ‘go’ mode.  Separating food from emotions is VERY important.  It’s not a crazy concept, and you can still eat your favorites in MUCH SMALLER PORTIONS and not every day, but I guarantee your favorites will be changing as soon as you take the emotions out of the equation.

So ditch the emotions when it comes to your food.  Eat what your body needs, and be done with it.  Believe it or not, it’s actually quite liberating.

-Julie

Side note:  I’ve been waiting so long to begin this blog.  I thought I had to have that perfect body to tell other people what has or hasn’t worked for me.  NOT TRUE!  I’m a work in progress, and you’re along for the ride.  If you can take anything helpful away from these blogs, then that’s great.  Just remember I’m not a nutritionist, dietician, psychologist, or professional healer in any way.  I’m just doing my thing and sharing what I’ve learned.

Leave a Reply

