You Can’t Win Alone

This post is going to be short and sweet, but it’s an open expression of a lesson learned over the last month.  And it also serves as an acknowledgement of thanks to a group of people who have always been there encouraging me, motivating me, pushing me to do more even though I wasn’t really able to see them . . .until now.

 

People who know me personally know that I’m a pretty strong-willed individual.  This can be a good and a bad trait.  I may struggle to get to my projected goal, but rest assured that I’ll get there eventually.  I’m not used to a hand up, and certainly not a hand out.  I internalize my thoughts, trying to answer my own questions and not worry or concern others.  I don’t ask for anything and don’t expect anything.

 

But I’ve been noticing as of recent a group of people who are supporting me now more than ever, gently encouraging me, nudging me when I seem hesitant, or giving me a proverbial whack when it’s justified.  And they’re making me realize something that has been lost on me for a very long time:  “Hey kid, you can’t do this on your own.”  Sure we’d all like to think we can, and yeah, it takes an overabundance of time, effort and energy on my part, but without a support group there can be an awful lot of stressful, sleepless nights.

 

So this is my way of not only sharing this little light bulb, this nugget of information, this discovery on my part, it’s also the best way I know how to show my gratitude to this small group of people.  If TRUSTED people want to help you, encourage you, offer sage advice. . . .let them.  Your trusted group can be a great sounding board, test market, and can also keep you from possibly making some really big mistakes.  It doesn’t mean that the journey still isn’t YOURS, it just makes the ride more enjoyable.

 

So I’m grateful for you all.  You know who you are.  I offer a deep bow of respect, a hearty hug, a clink of the glass and a big THANK YOU.  Helpful people shouldn’t make you feel vulnerable, they should make you feel lucky.  And that’s exactly how I feel.

 

Lucky Me –

Jul

Leave a Reply

